state of mind


Graffiti, New York City, originally uploaded by DRheins.

Sometimes I look at my imperfect Indiana lawn

with suburban despair, wincing at rabid crab grass and slimy grub worms

But when I remember my urban life on the East Coast

one among the crowds crammed into steamy subway cars

the cramped quarters and ragged corners of Jersey City

I do not miss the ugliness of omnipresent graffiti

nor the odor of urine-soaked streets.

So count me grateful for the sounds of summer nights

and happy for humble lawns and my new Hoosier state

Leave a Reply

