Midlife Reflections Midday on a June Road 6/28


It is midpoint between day and night
In the still quietude of June afternoon
Two seasons have passed
Two seasons to go
And so, while the cicadas pulse in the cornfields surrounding me,
I pause to take stock. Tie my shoes. Pull up my socks.
Dust off my shoulders and slap my hat.
I’ll not tarry too long before I hit the road again
And this moment is lost to all but these chicken scratches

But for now, I smell the air
And realize that this is all there is
All there ever was or is likely to be
Life
Happening now in a theater near you
In a cubicle, carport, lunch counter, truck stop
There.
If you take a long, slow breath
Hold it in
And squint till you can’t see but a faint shadow through your eye lashes
There, you just might see it
For yourself

8 thoughts on “Midlife Reflections Midday on a June Road 6/28

  1. Wow. I can’t even find words to say how much I like this poem. The cicadas pulsing in the cornfields, life happening in a theater near you…etc. etc. If I mentioned everything I like, I would include the entire poem. I found you on Scott Young’s awesome website. Now I’m so glad I did. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Julie — Thank you so much for stopping by, and for the kind words.

    I am a big fan of Buffaloe Pen, and so glad to meet you here.

    I’ll add Buffaloe Pen to my blogroll, please feel free to do the same!

    Hope to see you back here soon.

  3. Scot — So great to participate in your ‘contest’, and hope you’ll do more in the future and include me. And, it has been fantastic to meet other writers such as Julie.

    Have a great holiday.

  4. david
    I certainly will. She is a good spirit for sure. I may do these once a month. It brought some people together and that was the idea on my part. I have some books coming to review and a few more interviews to post and of course will post some poems–I have a bluebird or two to put up–enjoy the day

Leave a Reply

